Events

Winter meetings 2021-22

Due to continuing uncertainty over COVID-19, no indoor meetings are being held this season.

Online evening ZOOM meetings will be held over the winter season. The planned dates (Tuesdays) and subjects are shown below. Details are sent to members before each event.

DateDetails
Tuesday 12th October 2021Green Roofs Apithanny Bourne
Tuesday 26th October 2021Lesser Black-backed Gull tracking programme
Hayley Douglas
Tuesday 9th November 2021Conserving Native Caledonian Pine Forests in Scotland; case study of the Pine Hoverfly
Ellen Rotheray
Tuesday 23rd November 2021The BSBI Rough Squad (Joint with BSS)
Jim Mcintosh
Tuesday 14th December 2021Botanising in the Swiss Engadine Lyn Jones
Tuesday 11th January 2022Dundee Botanic Garden Kevin Frediani
Tuesday 25th January 2022Members’ Night
Tuesday 8th February 2022Solitary Bees Gavin Ramsay
Tuesday 22nd February 2022South American Mammals Wayne Gourlay
Tuesday 8th March 2022Dendrochronology Rob Wilson
Tuesday 22nd March 2022AGM

In addition we are planning a series of Saturday walks, about once a month so that we can physically meet up outdoors. The next planned walk is on Saturday 4th December, at Riverside Nature Park.

Any changes in the situation will be notified here, on our Facebook page and by emailing members.

Membership is open to all with an interest in the natural world. See the Join us page for details.

Past events

Summer meetings 2021

We held some socially-distanced evening walks, after Covid restrictions eased a little.

DatePlace
Tuesday 4th May 2021Lower Dighty, Monifieth  
Tuesday 18th May 2021Keptie Pond, Arbroath, Recording meeting, joint with BSS
Tuesday 1st June 2021Balgay Hill, Dundee, Recording meeting, joint with BSS
Tuesday 15th June 2021Monifieth seafront, Recording meeting, joint with BSS
Saturday 26th June 2021Orchid Meadow, Clunie, Blairgowrie
Tuesday 6th July 2021Kinnaird and Guardswell
Saturday 24th July 2021Tayfield Estate
Tuesday 17th August 2021Carsegowniemuir Quarry barbecue
Saturday 21st August 2021Tentsmuir Point
Saturday 18th September 2021Templeton Woods, fungal foray

Winter meetings 2020-2021

A series of lecture meetings was held on Zoom.

Summer excursions 2020

Due to COVID-19, all planned outings were cancelled, as was our Oban Weekend.

Instead, we produced an electronic Newsletter for members, with reports and news of interesting sightings, with photos by members, weekly throughout this summer. For Autumn and Winter it is issued 2-weekly.

If you are socially isolating yourselves outdoors then take some pictures or report sightings on our Facebook page and for our Lockdown Newsletter to our Secretary. Stay safe.


Winter meetings 2019 – 2020

Indoor Winter meetings are normally held on Tuesday evenings in the Dalhousie Building, University of Dundee, Old Hawkhill, DD1 5EN.

Saturday 5th October 2019Tree planting day and BBQ at Carsegowniemuir Quarry
Tuesday 8th October 2019Looking for Flowers in the Peruvian Andes
Richard Brinklow
Tuesday 22nd October 2019History of Weather and Climate Change
Alastair Dawson
Saturday 9th November 2019Bell Pettigrew Museum and walk St Andrews
Saturday walk led by Jim Cook. Followed by a pub lunch.
Tuesday 12th November 2019The Flora of Central Scotland – 50 Years of Change
Roy Sexton. Joint meeting with Botanical Society of Scotland.
Tuesday 26th November 2019The Lynx and Us
David Hetherington
Tuesday 10th December 2019Christmas Festivities – Recent Marine Strandings on the Tay
David lampard
Thursday 2nd January 2020New Year walk and barbecue, at Templeton Woods, Dundee
Leader Anne Reid and Jim Cook.
Tuesday 14th January 202054 Degrees South
Stewart Dod
Tuesday 28th January 2020Members photographs Night
Hosted by Anne Reid.
Tuesday 11th February 2020Pollination, Bees and their Tribulations
Athayde Tonhasca.
Friday 14th February 2020Members Social Evening
Queens Hotel, 160 Nethergate, Dundee.
Tuesday 25th February 2020Fantastic Freshwater Invertebrates
Craig McAdam
Tuesday 10th March 2020AGM
Results of Kim Eberst Photographic Competition. Followed by refreshments.
Saturday 21st March 2020Tayside Recorders Day
Perth Museum.
Saturday 28th March 2020Elliot links shore
Saturday walk led by Anne Reid. Followed by a pub lunch.

%d bloggers like this: